Skip to content

Mission Statement

January 3, 2013

This is my blog.  See me blog.  Blog, me, blog!

I have recently decided to move to LA, and this blog is the way I am going to track my progress as I work toward my goal of being a working actor in LA.

Let me define working actor: I pay all of my bills through acting (or artistry of some kind – writing, producing, dancing, singing, etc). 

Tis a lofty goal, I know, but I have very specific goals for this year and I have plans to achieve them!

Goals for 2013:

Move to LA

Before moving, get into very good shape

Before moving, book at least one gig through my current agent (preferably a high paying one)

Every day, whether I work or not, do something artistic, whether that be writing, working on learning music, working on monologues, creating a video….just something to keep my artistry alive and kicking

After moving, get an agent and book something

So……pretty fucking ambitious.  But I’m feeling good about it.  It’s the most driven I’ve felt in a long time.  I do have a tendency to start things highly motivated but then “fall off the wagon”, so to speak, but this time I’m determined to see these goals through.  I’m attempting a change in the fiber of my being.  No longer will I succumb to laziness, irresponsibility or fear.  From here on out, I live my art.

In order to achieve these goals, I’ve set a timeline, and here are my goals for the next 3 months:
Attend the gym 3x a week

Create my reel

Start a YouTube channel devoted to complex and interesting mashups

Begin prepping for LA

Blog at least 3x a week

Do a reading of the musical I wrote (after editing it, of course)

Slowly wean myself off of soda and processed snack foods

Again, crazy ambitious!  But I believe in myself!  And I hope that readers will believe in me too.

In addition to all my crazy ambitions, I hope I can share some knowledge along the way.  To that end: Here is a resource I have found invaluable not only in my preparations to move to LA, but to my world view as well.  Trevor Algatt and AJ Meijer are two LA actors who started a podcast in 2009 to inform other actors about how things work in the LA acting scene.  What I thought was just going to be hints and tidbits has turned into something that I can’t wait to listen to every time I pop my headphones in.  These two artists have such an amazing outlook on life and interview others with similar outlooks and I feel so positive and hopeful for my future as an artist when I listen to them.  The podcast is called “Inside Acting” and their website is: http://www.insideactingpodcast.com/ The podcast is downloadable through iTunes and I would (and have) recommend(ed) it to people who don’t live in LA and aren’t even actors.   It’s that good.  Go there.  Listen.

Catch you next post!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

