Skip to content

The Importance of Rest

February 15, 2013

For Type A personalities like me, it can be hard to recognize when you’re working yourself too hard.  For those that have been following along, you know that I’ve set some rather ambitious goals for myself this year.  Some I’m succeeding at, others not so much.  But there comes a point where when you have some free time, you say to yourself: “God damn it, I need a break”.  It is so important to listen to your body when these times come.

For the last two weeks, I’ve been working inventory at my day job.  This means shifts of 4am-2pm.  Which of course, usually means that I get less than 6 hours of sleep a night, because training your body to go to bed at 5:30pm is not easy.  As I was approaching inventory, I was thinking loftily, as always.  “Oh, yeah, I can totally go to the gym on my way home from work, then work on a script before going to bed.” “On my days off, I’ll naturally be up early, so I can get lots of work done!”

Uh…no.  On my days off so far, I’ve been so exhausted that I’ve barely been able to get out of bed to answer the door for that pizza I ordered.  Plus I’ve been having rehearsals and recordings and meetings and plenty of other things taking up my evening hours most nights as well. 

In the last two nights, I slept 11 and 10 hours, respectively.  My body needed the break.  And I allowed it to have one.  It’s the only reason I’m awake before 10 on my day off.  And actually being productive.  By allowing my body to get the rest that it needed, I can now get things done.  This month as a whole won’t be as productive as I’d originally imagined.  But when your body gets what it needs, the whole world lines up in your favor.

Know when you need rest, and take it.  Your life will thank you.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

