Skip to content

Epiphany

February 27, 2013

Not long ago, I read the book Crush It, by Gary Vaynerchuk.  In that book (that every actor should read, by the way), he talks about how to make a living off of the thing you’re passionate about.  In terms of blogging, he says that if you can’t think of 50 posts to write on that topic, you may not truly be passionate about it.

I was slightly disheartened by that.  I’ve always thought that acting is my passion, but I could not for the life of me come up with more than ten things to write about.  Then, while in the mindless wasteland of retail inventory, it hit me.  What thing do I do with my free time the most when I’m at home?  Watch TV.

All of a sudden, I thought of ten posts right off the bat.  And the ideas won’t stop coming.  I honestly can’t believe it took me this long to realize that TV is more than a hobby for me…it’s my passion.

The summer after I graduated high school, I picked up the first season of Buffy, the Vampire Slayer.  Three months later, I had watched every single episode of Buffy, Angel and Firefly.  I was obsessed, not just with series television, but with Joss Whedon.  You may have heard of him. He wrote and directed The Avengers.  His writing is so specific and just plain brilliant.  But it was the character of Willow in Buffy that really made me look at TV in a new light.

Spoiler alert: Willow starts out as a wallflower, but over the course of seven seasons, she comes into her own as a powerful woman, becomes a lesbian, becomes evil and nearly destroys the world, then finally is not only the most powerful character on the show, but she is very nearly a goddess.

There is no other medium for an actor to explore that many facets of one character except for television.  Plays are over in roughly two hours.  Same with films.  And while these are both wonderful expressions of art, and I love doing them, I crave the ability to explore a character over years.  With the right writers, you can make anything happen.  And with the right actor, like Alyson Hannigan, writers know that they can write anything for that character and the actor can pull it off.

I should have known then that television acting was what I wanted to do and done everything in my power to pursue it.  But hey, I was 18.  Nobody knows anything when they’re 18.  Nine years later, though, I’ve figured it out.  World of television, get ready!

So, from here on out, this blog will mainly be about television, although I will still be checking back in from time to time with updates on what I’m working on and little epiphanies about acting and life.  Stay tuned!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Markus permalink

    Congratulations! I am so glad you are coming into your own. You are fantastic, and I support you! ❤❤❤

Leave a Reply

