Skip to content

Mindy Project Casting

February 28, 2013

Ok, so now that this blog is mainly about TV, I HAVE to start reading up on the shows that I watch regularly, because I had NO IDEA about the cast changes that were happening on The Mindy Project, even though the news broke back in November.

Why on earth would they get rid of Amanda Setton?  She’s hilarious!  I thought that she provided a sort of role model for Mindy, since she was so glamorous.  And it was such a nice contrast between her and Zoe Jarman.  Not that I have anything against Beth Grant (I mean, hello, have you seen Sordid Lives????).  The woman is amazing.  But I’m certainly sad to see Amanda Setton go.

Well, now that I’m done griping, I can talk about how AMAZING the rest of the casting choices have been.  Bumping Ike Barinholtz up to series regular was a complete “duh” choice.  He’s fantastic.  Ever since his first appearance on the show, he steals every scene that he’s in.  Why is he not superfamous yet?

On the flip side of that, I’m not surprised that Anna Camp was bumped from series regular to recurring guest star.  She wasn’t used very much, and in an office comedy, it’s hard to create storylines outside of the office, even if her character is the lead’s best friend. 

Speaking of The Office (see what I did there?), I have LOVED seeing Ellie Kemper and BJ Novak on the show.  BJ was kind of another “duh” choice to have on the show, since he’s one of the main writers for it, and he and Mindy have  AMAZING chemistry on screen.  And Ellie Kemper is one of the funniest women I’ve seen.  She kills it week after week on The Office and was a delightful addition to Bridesmaids.

As I continue watching The Mindy Project, I’m not sure about its future, but I really enjoy watching it week after week.  Here’s a clip of my favorite scene thus far, from the episode guest starring Seth Rogen.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IS1bsBjS_yY

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

