Skip to content

Mindy Project, Following Renewed

March 6, 2013

Well, it was certainly fortuitous that right after my post about The Mindy Project, it was renewed for a second season!  I’m not surprised that it was, although I am surprised that it was renewed so early in the season.  Maybe the casting changes gave the studio a lot of hope for it.

And at the same time, The Following has been renewed for a second season too, after only 6 episodes.  At this, I am not surprised at all.  The Following is one of the most suspenseful and surprising shows I’ve ever seen.  A recent storyline had three of the main characters holding a girl hostage and for two entire episodes you’re on the edge of your seat to see if they’re going to kill her or not.  I couldn’t take my eyes of the screen.  

For those who don’t know, The Following is about a serial killer in prison who has followers. They are other serial killers, and he has orchestrated a network of these followers to do his bidding from behind bars.  James Purefoy is the charming, slick psychopath Joe Carroll, who has this following and he plays the role devilishly.  Countering him is Kevin Bacon, a very flawed human being, Ryan Hardy, who used to be with the FBI.  He’s an alcoholic and the only reason he’s on the case is because he’s the one who caught Carroll in the first place.

This show received a lot of press before it started airing in January, and right from the first episode, it has you completely enthralled, never knowing what’s going to happen next, who could be a follower of Carroll’s.  The FBI is always one step behind Carroll and his followers, of course, which helps keep you biting your nails every episode.  I hope they are able to find ways to continually surprise the audience, because I worry that the premise could run out of story very quickly.  But so far….I’m totally hooked.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Markus permalink

    I’m gonna watch this!!!

  2. You should! It’s phenomenal!

  3. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to
    be actually something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very broad for me.
    I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Violence on TV | Actor's (b)Log

Leave a Reply

