Skip to content

Reality Bites the Dust

April 21, 2013

ImageSo, like many, I’m sure, I was intrigued by NBC’s latest dating reality show, Ready for Love.  It was produced by Eva Longoria, the lead singer of the Plain White T’s was one of the guys, and it looked like it might stand out from other dating shows.

I lasted 20 min.  Basically, the intro.  They advertised it like it was happening in real time, but then they showed clips of one of the guys proposing.  After only 12 weeks.  Seriously.  So it’s no surprise to me that it’s been pulled off the air after only 2 episodes. (This is what was supposed to have higher ratings than Smash.  Good move, NBC.  Now you’re showing repeats of Grimm in that time slot.  I hope you’re happy with yourselves.)

But this made me think about reality TV as a whole.  Why is America obsessed with it?  And then it hit me: We like to live vicariously through other people, instead of actually living our lives to the fullest.  We can sit on the couch and eat pizza, watching other people lose weight.  We can complain about our love lives and watch people “fall in love” and marry each other for money.  We can talk about how we want to see the world, then watch people on a deserted island act out “Lord of the Flies”.

Now I like TV as much as the next guy (obviously), and there is some reality TV I love (y’all know I’m obsessed with The Voice), but honestly, we need to stop encouraging shows like Ready for Love and actually go out into the world and find love for ourselves.  Or travel.  Or get into shape.  Or anything.  

And obviously, I need to follow my own advice.  Which is why I’m moving to LA this fall.  Come hell or high water, I’m doing it.  And before then, I’m producing a cabaret and two webseries, all of which I’ll perform in.  Because I’m tired of sitting on my ass watching other people achieve things I want to achieve.  

Who’s with me?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

