Skip to content

2013 Upfronts

May 29, 2013

I am so excited that the networks have announced the lineup for this fall!  Now let’s talk about which shows are gonna be great….and which ones will fall flat on their faces.

ABC:

Betrayal: This show looks overly dramatic, overly complicated, and just plain awful.  Yet I won’t be surprised if it gets a huge following, especially by the Desperate Housewives audience.  The thing that really bothers me about this is that the heroine of the story is cheating on her husband.  And her dilemma is that her husband and lover are on opposite sides of a case, not that she’s CHEATING ON HER HUSBAND.  Ridiculous.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS SHOW!!!!  Not only is it a continuation of the Avengers storyline, but it’s also the return of Joss Whedon to TV.  And you know he’ll bring in actors from the Whedonverse (like J. August Richards, who is in the pilot).  My number 1 new show of the fall lineup.

The Goldbergs: A mockery of shows like the Wonder Years, I don’t think this one will do too well.  It will likely overplay the whole “the 80s were so bizarre!” thing.

Trophy Wife: I’m not a huge fan of Malin Akerman, so I won’t be watching this one.  I predict this one will be a little heavy handed as well and overdo the whole “I suddenly have a family!” thing.

Lucky 7: OMG we won the lottery!  Our lives are so different now!  Unoriginal, uninspired, and uninteresting.

Back in the Game: One of many “parent-adult child dynamic” shows premiering this fall.  Sports shows don’t really appeal to me, but I think this one will be a hit.

Super Fun Night: I will watch anything with Rebel Wilson in it.  Seriously.  Anything.  Especially if she gets to ad lib.  So here’s hoping that’s a thing.

Once Upon a Time in Wonderland: My number two new show this fall.  I love the original show, and they’ve announced that there will be crossovers.  Plus, Wonderland is awesome.  And with John Lithgow as the White Rabbit, how can you go wrong?

NBC:

The Blacklist: This show looks really interesting.  A little bit Hannibal, a little bit The Following, I think this one has a lot of potential.

Ironside: A remake of a 60s-70s show that ran for 8 seasons.  I don’t think this one will last more than one, though.

Welcome to the Family: A comedy about, well, essentially, racism.  Yeah…not tuning into this one.

Sean Saves the World: I so want this to be good.  I’m happy that there is at least one show featuring a gay character as lead, especially played by a gay actor.  So I’ll be watching.  But honestly, I don’t think this one will make it.  It will likely be really one note.  But like Partners last year, I’ll watch it till it goes.

The Michael J Fox Show: This one will get a lot of viewers at the beginning, because it’s Michael J Fox, and everyone loves Michael J Fox.  But it feels like it’s capitalizing on his Parkinson’s.  I guess we’ll see.

Dracula: The third show I can’t wait for.  I’ve always loved vampires, always loved Dracula myths, and always loved Jonathan Rhys Meyers.  So yes, I’ll definitely be watching this.

CBS:

We Are Men: Clearly this is meant to appeal to the Two and a Half Men and Entourage set. I’ll pass.

Mom: Another “parent-adult child dynamic” show, but this one has Chuck Lorre behind it and Anna Faris and Allison Janney in the leads.  This one will definitely be worth watching.

Hostages: This sounds like it could get really old really quickly, but it does have Toni Collette and Dylan McDermott in it….I might check out the pilot to see what it’s about.

Intelligence: Josh Holloway and Meghan Ory….so how long before their characters hook up?  That’s really the only thing about this show I’m interested in.  I think it’ll catch on, though.

The Millers: This is “parent-adult child dynamics” number 3.  But the cast are great comedians, so it has a sporting chance.

The Crazy Ones: Number 4 “parent-adult child dynamics” and the 3rd on CBS alone.  I’m guessing their expecting at least one to be canceled, and my money is on this one. I will definitely tune in to see Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar return to TV, but I think it’ll bite the dust pretty quickly.

FOX:

Almost Human: Flawed human and flawed robot connect emotionally. Pass.

Sleepy Hollow: I will totally watch this. Modern day Sleepy Hollow?  I’m so in.

Dads: Another “parent-adult child dynamic” show, but the only one focusing on the father/son dynamic.  Not for me, but Martin Mull and Seth Green will likely make this one a hit.

Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Another show in the vein of The Office, but this time in a police precinct.  Meh.

Enlisted: Barrack hijinks by our country’s last resort. I think this one is kind of disrespectful to the armed forces.

The CW:

The Originals: Again, I love vampire stuff. And they always do well on the CW.  But it seems a little convoluted for my taste.  That said, I’m sure it will do quite well.

The Tomorrow People: Super powers!  Oh heck, why not?  Sort of X-men-y and not terribly original.  May check out the pilot.

Reign: Mary, Queen of Scots as a teenager.  Uh…I think this is a bad idea that will take history and completely obliterate it.  No thanks.

Can’t wait to see what flies and what doesn’t!

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Another Gay Show Bites the Dust | Actor's (b)Log

Leave a Reply

