Skip to content
Tags

The Emmys Stress Me Out

July 19, 2013

ImageSo, this may be sacrilege for someone who loves TV as much as I do, but I’m not crazy about the Emmys.  And before you stone me, here’s why.

My life is filled with lists.  And nothing (well almost nothing), feels better than crossing things off my list.  So when the Oscars come around, it’s easy to watch all the movies.  For the Grammy’s and the Tony’s, I get caught up in the performances, so I don’t feel the need to be completely versed in the nominees.  But when it comes to the Emmys (and the Golden Globes too, for that matter), I want to have seen everything that’s nominated so that I can be completely informed for the awards.

Now, intellectually I know that the Emmys are based on singular episodes, and I could research and watch those episodes and then be well informed, but my brain doesn’t really work that way.  Not only do I want to see the episode that has been nominated, I want to see the entire season that it came from, and how can I watch that season, if I haven’t seen the seasons that came before it????

You see my problem.  I’ll end up watching the Emmys and cheering for the shows I’ve seen, and maybe adding a few of the winners to my never ending list of shows to watch.  In the meantime, I’ll continue watching the show I enjoy and hope that some of them get nominated.

For a full list of this year’s nominees, click here.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

