Skip to content

Hollywood Game Night vs. Million Second Quiz

September 11, 2013

Image

Hooray!!  Hollywood Game Night has been picked up for a second season!!!  I’m super stoked about this, because of all the summer shows I tried to enjoy and failed, this is the one that I’m actually going to watch every year and hope it continues until I can be one of the celebrities on the couches.

I mean, what’s not to love?  You’ve got Jane Lynch hosting, cracking jokes at the expense of the other celebrities and herself.  You’ve got actors like Alyson Hannigan, Sean Hayes, Tom Arnold, Niecy Nash, Kristen Bell, Lisa Kudrow, Matthew Perry, Sarah Chalke, Al Roker, Terry Crews, and many more simply playing games and drinking.  And the civilian contestants win money!  And charities get money!

It’s so simple! 

Which is why I can’t wrap my head around Million Second QuizRyan Seacrest hosts this one, and as hard as I tried, and as much as I read about it, I simply did not understand how it works.  So I sat down to watch it.

I got through the first commercial break and was no longer interested.  The players have to stay in a chair answering questions head to head against challengers for as long as possible…if they get knocked out of the chair, but have stayed in longer than anyone else, you to the “Winner’s Circle”, where the four top scorers stay until they get knocked out by someone who had a higher score.  At the end of, I guess, 12 days of game play, those remaining in the Winner’s Circle will compete to see who takes home money.  But they have to stay in that circle under scrutiny by America for the entire time.  You could spend almost two weeks in almost total isolation in order to win some money.

This is unnecessarily complicated and a little bit sadistic.  What does it say about our society that we are willing to go to such extremes for money?  I mean, I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised, what with shows like Survivor, but this just seems so convoluted to me.  It’s like a twisted experiment.  Don’t these people have jobs and families?  How are they just able to go live in a glass bubble for 2 weeks?  Granted, if they win, they’ll have earned quite a bit of vacation time.  But still.  I don’t see the appeal of this show.  I’m for Hollywood Game Night all the way.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

