Skip to content

Back in Seattle, or I Hate Producing

December 14, 2013

Image

Three months after moving to LA, I am back in Seattle!  Not permanently of course.  I came up to work backstage on Lily Verlaine and Jasper McCann Present Land of the Sweets: The Burlesque Nutcracker.  (You can get tickets here.)

But that’s not the only thing I’m doing while I’m here.  Tomorrow I start filming the trailer for a webseries I conceived about a year ago and finished writing in March.  After one disastrous attempt at filming it, I decided to re-edit the scripts and write a trailer version first…and we start tomorrow!  I’m super excited and as soon as the trailer is done, you better believe I’ll be promoting the hell of it on here.  But as a little preview, here’s a quote from the script:

We see the back of a drag queen’s head. From the back she doesn’t look too bad.

NARRATOR (V.O.): This is ShaDynasty.

SHADYNASTY turns around and we see how jacked up she is. Not a good drag queen at all.

NARRATOR (V.O.): She’s the world’s worst drag queen.

ShaDynasty tries to bat her lashes, but one is barely on. She blinks, trying to fix it, but it just gets awkward. Hot mess.

NARRATOR (V.O.): She also fights crime.

I hope you all really enjoy when it’s finished!

In related news, I’m also collaborating with a good friend on a project we’ve been wanting to do for a long time where she’s in boy drag and I’m in girl drag and we do parody music videos.  So that films next week!  It’s a ton of work, but I can’t wait to film it and see how it turns out!

I have learned A LOT about producing while attempting to make ShaDynasty a reality and to coordinate everything for this music video.  From people not responding to communications, to finding the right outfits, to finding film locations, producing is hard work!  I found that it’s very easy to get frustrated and I have to be even more organized than I am normally in order to keep my sanity.

That said, I am always having ideas, and I can’t sit around and wait for someone to go: “Hey! You there!  Tell me your ideas and I shall make them a reality!”  So, produce I must.  I’m sure as time goes by, I will find the parts of it that I like, and as I grow in my own business, I will find the people who are either enthusiastic about working on a certain project, or I will be able to afford to pay people to be excited about my projects.

I will say that I am very fortunate that for both ShaDynasty and the music video, the other participants seem as excited about the projects as I am.  And that makes everything worth it.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

