Skip to content

2014 Upfronts Part 2: The CW and CBS

June 6, 2014

The-Flash-TV-Show-Poster

While they haven’t announced their premiere schedules yet, other networks have their lineups ready as well.

The CW

The CW has the fewest shows in general, so it’s no surprise that it only has four new shows this season. Two are premiering in the fall, and two in the spring.

The Flash

The CW is my least favorite network, mostly because they pander to the teen girl demographic, but that doesn’t mean I won’t watch something that I think is interesting. And if you’ve followed my blog at all, you know that I’m a huge fan of Arrow. So naturally, I am eagerly anticipating the spinoff, The Flash. I’m hoping for all kinds of crossovers. Starring Grant Gustin (Glee) and Jesse L Martin (Law & Order, Rent), I have very high hopes for this one, not to mention high expectations. But, if the folks behind Arrow are involved, I think this could be a great success.

The Flash will air Tuesdays at 8pm.

Jane the Virgin

This is a comedy, I think. Jane made a promise as a child to remain a virgin til marriage, and she’s stuck to that promise. However, her OBGYN accidentally inseminated her, so now Jane is going to have a baby. This. Sounds. Horrible. Is the CW trying to counteract all their other programming by having a show AGAINST teen pregnancy? I don’t get it. I think it flops.

Jane the Virgin will air Mondays at 9pm.

The following two shows premiere in the spring.

The Messengers

Another “people with powers” show that debuts in the spring. Possible replacement for The Tomorrow People? I won’t be watching, but I expect it will do well.

iZombie

Also airing in the spring, this is a comic book adaptation that I think will flop. A med student gets bitten by a zombie and tries to live a normal life by consuming brains in the morgue where she works. The Walking Dead meets Dexter? I’ll pass. Not sure how the masses will feel, though.

 

CBS

CBS renewed most of their shows this year, so they’re only premiering five shows in the fall. Three more shows will premiere in the spring.

Madam Secretary

Watching the trailer, at first I was not into this. Tea Leoni lives a simple life with her family years after quitting the CIA gets tapped to be the next Secretary of State. (Bebe Neuwirth is her assistant…ok, I’m getting interested.) And she proves to be unorthodox, witty, and incredibly savvy. Definitely a better White House premise than NBC’s State of Affairs, so I’ll be tuning to see how it all goes.

Madam Secretary will air Sundays at 8pm.

The McCarthys

Boy do I have mixed feelings about this one. On the surface, a family comedy about a sports crazed Boston family with one black sheep doesn’t thrill me in the slightest.  On the other hand, though, the black sheep is gay, and his mother is played by Laurie Metcalf. Like with NBC’s One Big Happy, I’ll definitely check it out, but I can’t make any promises.

The McCarthys will air Thursdays at 9:30pm

NCIS: New Orleans

Another NCIS show.

NCIS: New Orleans will air Tuesday at 9pm after (surprise, surprise) NCIS.

Scorpion

This looks pretty cool. A sort of procedural about a group of highly intelligent, socially awkward misfits who are commandeered by Homeland Security to save the world, more or less. The downside? Katharine McPhee is in it as a waitress and mother of a boy genius who helps the team and will likely be a love interest for their “leader”. I personally think she’s awful, so she may bring the whole thing crashing down. Until she does, though, I’ll be watching this one.

Scorpion will air Mondays at 9pm.

Stalker

CBS, the King of Procedurals, adds another to its roster. And they must really like Dylan McDermott, since they’re giving him another show, even though Hostages flopped. And this one is kind of interesting. A division of LAPD that investigates stalking cases (bet you couldn’t tell from the title, huh?), but the lead detective, who’s a stalking victim herself, takes it upon herself to stalk the stalkers. That’s about the only interesting point in the trailer though. I think this one will be successful for the Eye, but I’ll skip it.

Stalker will air Wednesdays at 10pm.

The following shows premiere in the spring.

CSI: Cyber

Another CSI show.

Battle Creek

Feels like a True Detective ripoff. Might do well for the network, but I doubt it.

Odd Couple

Matthew Perry and Thomas Lennon step into the well worn shoes of Oscar and Felix in this modern update to the classic series. So basically, Two and a Half Men without the half. I’ll be checking it out, but I love the Klugman/Randall series, so I’ll be judging harshly.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

