Skip to content

Catching Up to Grey’s Anatomy

June 13, 2014

grey's anatomy season 10 cast photo

Four seasons of television ago, I decided to stop following shows. Crazy, right? On Grey’s Anatomy, this was about the time that Derek (Patrick Dempsey) was shot. Four years later, after hearing that Sandra Oh was leaving the show, I decided to play catch up before the upcoming eleventh season. And I’m so glad I did!

I have a huge love/hate relationship with this show. Like most shows that go on  for as long as it has, I constantly find myself hating certain storylines that either feel false to a character, or are overly dramatic. And in the last four seasons, we have plenty of this. I was on the phone with my best friend almost daily talking about what I loved or hated about certain seasons.  Here’s what we discussed.

“The Musical Episode”
I was really worried about this one. Ever since Sara Ramirez joined the cast, I’ve been waiting for an episode where she sang. But I was hoping for karaoke, or some benefit performance. So when they announced they were doing a full musical episode, I thought it was going to be brilliant. But I was so wrong! The episode happens right after Callie (Ramirez) and Arizona (Jessica Capshaw) have been in a traumatic car accident and Callie’s life and the life of her unborn child are at risk. All of the songs are songs that have been featured in the show, including “Chasing Cars”, “Breathe”, and “The Story”, and they were all appropriate and all really worked with what was happening in the scene. It was also really nice to hear Chandra Wilson and Kevin McKidd sing. Wilson is a former Broadway star as well as Ramirez and McKidd sings in a band. The real surprise, though, was Chyler Leigh. Though she’s no longer on the show, it was really great to see her explore a new side of her talent and really shine in it.  The episode had a few missteps, but overall, I think it really worked.

“The Plane Crash”

By the end of Season Eight, they definitely needed to shake things up a bit. Relationships were tense, the residents were getting offers from other hospitals, and there hadn’t been a casting shift on the show in about five years. So it was no surprise when it seemed like Cristina (Oh), Meredith (Ellen Pompeo) and Karev (Justin Chambers) looked like they were leaving Seattle Grace Hospital. However, we all knew these three actors weren’t going anywhere, so something had to make them stay. Enter the plane crash. By the end of the ordeal, Lexie (Leigh) and Mark (Eric Dane) are dead, and Teddy (Kim Raver) has left the show for other reasons. This allows us to have five new interns at the start of season nine, altering the cast dynamic dramatically as well as providing excellent story material for season nine.

“Buying the Hospital”

Speaking of great storylines for season nine, this season was one of my absolute favorites since the beginning of the show. Arizona and Callie dealing with Arizona having one leg and losing Mark, Meredith and Derek’s relationship growing as he rebuilds his hand, Cristina and Owen (McKidd) reconciling, and most of all, the doctors from the crash buying the hospital. Every storyline was interesting, every episode worth watching. Watching the characters work toward a goal far far bigger than themselves was inspiring and so great.

“Secret Love Child”

Season ten did not live up to its predecessor. Callie and Arizona on the rocks. Cristina and Owen breaking up…again. Derek breaking promises to Meredith. Webber (James Pickens Jr) in the hospital. Interns running amok. And Jackson (Jesse Williams) and April (Sarah Drew) getting married unexpectedly. I think that last one was my least favorite. I never really bought the two of them as romantic partners; I always liked them better as friends. But the way the season ended was what really disappointed me. Once again, it looks like Cristina, Karev, Derek and Meredith are all leaving the show, though we know that only one of them really is. I have to say that I’m tired of this gimmick. Maybe it’s because I watched four seasons in about two weeks, but it seems overplayed already. However, since Cristina really did leave, I really enjoyed her send off. I would totally watch a spinoff about Cristina Yang 3D printing hearts in Switzerland. I was also glad that she took Ross (Gaius Charles) with her. Out of all the interns, he and Leah (Tessa Ferrer) annoyed me the most, so I’m glad that they’re both gone from the show as well.

In their places, it seems like the show is bringing on three new people. The first is Jason George, who plays resident Ben Warren and Bailey’s (Wilson) husband. I doubt he’s going anywhere anytime soon. They’ve also been hinting that Derek’s sister Amy (Caterina Scorsone) will be joining the cast. While I love her character, I think that adding her to the main cast will make it too easy to do another addiction storyline. It’s been done. I don’t want it anymore. The other addition would seem to be Dr. Pierce (Kelly McCreary), the new head of cardio. In the last minute of the show, we learn that Ellis Grey (Kate Burton), Meredith’s mother, is also the mother of this new doctor. Pierce also happens to be black, meaning that Webber is her father. First of all, this is a dumb idea. We’ve already had one “surprise” Grey on the show. We don’t need another. Secondly, it makes no sense. They established earlier in the season that Ellis and Webber met when Meredith was three. Which means that there is no way that Pierce is old enough to become head of cardio anywhere. She should just be starting her residency. Additionally, if she was born after Meredith, wouldn’t someone, or everyone, notice that Ellis was pregnant? Thatcher (Jeff Perry), maybe? Or possibly her own daughter? Or maybe, just maybe, anyone that came into contact with her ever? It makes zero sense. I’ll be watching with very baited breath this coming season to see how they explain away this one.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

